How Our Children Will Learn

Children Hugging Tree.

The EYFS Statutory Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are essential for your child’s development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will ensure that activities are suited to your child’s needs. This is a bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for young children, and it’s designed to be flexible so that that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.